Skip to toolbar
04/14/2021

Liberty Pulse

Have You Checked Your Pulse Today?

UPDATED: Opt-Out Required to Prevent Your Yahoo! Mail Contacts From Being Used for Social Network

1 min read

UPDATED: Opt-Out Required to Prevent Your Yahoo! Mail Contacts From Being Used for Social Network

Earlier this week, Yahoo! announced a plan to try to leverage its Yahoo! Mail users’ contacts into a social network of friends who will receive your Yahoo! Updates. Once the most visited website in the world, Yahoo! now ranks fourth worldwide, reaching about a quarter of all Internet users each day. Like Google Buzz’s ill-fated launch using Gmail contacts, Yahoo! wants to jump start its social networking plans with the hundreds of millions of people who already use its email and messenger services.

While Yahoo! made some effort to avoid the worst aspects of the Facebook and Google Buzz privacy controversies, ultimately the plan conflicts with two principles of the EFF Bill of Privacy Rights for social network users. The program will begin a roll out next week, and Yahoo! users need to opt out if they do not wish to participate.

What Are Your Yahoo! Updates?

Yahoo! Updates are similar to Facebook’s news feed and Twitter’s tweets. For people who receive your Updates (more on that below), they will be seen on the basic Yahoo! Mail screen, in a category called

b9sJxqr097Kgo